Special Sunday Post: The Book Blogger Test

I rarely do personality-esque quizzes such as this, but after coming across this one on Jodie‘s blog, it looked interesting and fun to do, so I decided to do it too.  While this blog is more so about my writing career and other interconnective ramblings, there are cases where I do bring books into play, especially since I am a reader… and it seems like such a natural instinct for a writer to do when not writing.  So anyway, here’s my take on this quiz and I encourage you to take it yourself if you want to.

-Lauren

What are your top three book pet hates (peeves)?

1. I hate cliffhangers, especially when it’s from a book that’s part of a popular series.  Why do authors do that when they should know by then that their readership will come back for more?  It’s practically a quick trip to being institutionalized from the suspense and such.

2. I hate when books are so cliche, that you can already tell what direction it’s going in.  I experienced that while reading J.K. Rowling’s The Cuckoo’s Calling last year and it was so obvious who the killer was, that I stopped about 1/3 of the way into the book.  I later looked up a general overview of what happens in the book and it turns out my suspicions were correct.

3. Why does every YA novel have to have a romance element in it?  Can I please read one for once without the heroic girl winding up with the guy in the end, and vice versa?  Is there something wrong with them just being friends?  The same can go for adult books too, and maybe even more so, especially in regards to the five million sex scenes I’ve read (and most of them are generally very randomly placed).

Describe your perfect reading spot.

My ideal reading spots either incorporate silence or rhythm.  If I’m some place quiet, like in my bedroom or somewhere outside, then I can get a lot of reading done.  I can also just as easily read while on a train or someplace where there’s a recurring motion going on.

Tell us three book confessions.

1. I’ve never read The Fault in Our Stars, and I do not plan to.  I watched John Green’s videos of him reading from the first two chapters the summer before it came out and right away, I knew I would not be able to bare getting through such a book.

2. I read Memoirs of a Geisha when I was 13, and that turned out to be a not very smart thing to do.  The movie had just come out at the time and I really wanted to read the book.  I expected it to be a beautiful, fairytale-esque kind of story, and that turned out not to be the case at all.  It actually turned out to be the first book I read that had sexual content in it… and I had taken a sex ed class only the semester before!  So therefore, I do not recommend this book for 13-year-olds.  Wait until you’re 16 or 17 at least!

3. I’ve never read the Lord of the Rings series.  I tried reading The Hobbit one time, but for whatever reason, I just couldn’t sink myself into it.

When was the last time you cried during a book?

I’ve never cried while reading a book.  I can definitely get myself very sunken into a book when it’s exceptionally engaging, but never enough to where I’m emotionally involved.

How many books are on your bedside table?

One at the moment and it’s the book I’m currently reading: Peter Tieryas Liu’s Bald New World.

Current read: Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu.  Photo by Lauren Lola (as seen on Instagram).

Current read: Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu. Photo by Lauren Lola (as seen on Instagram).

What is your favorite snack to eat while you’re reading?

My philosophy is not to eat unless I’m actually hungry.  That hardly ever happens while I’m reading, but when it does, I often grab a fruit snack or something small like that.

Name three books you would recommend to everyone.

1. Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

2. The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand

3. The Uncle’s Story by Witi Ihimaera

Show us a picture of your favorite bookshelf on your bookcase.

(From l to r): "Struck by Lightning: The Carson Phillips Journal" by Chris Colfer, "The Uncle's Story" by Witi Ihimaera, "Avatar: The Last Airbender" comic book series by Gene Luen Yang, "Watering Heaven" by Peter Tierays Liu, "number9dream" by David Mitchell, "Black Swan Green" by David Mitchell, "Bulibasha: King of the Gypsies" by Witi Ihimaera, "The Elephant Vanishes" by Haruki Murakami, and "The Joy Luck Club" by Amy Tan.  Photo by Lauren Lola.

(From l to r): Struck by Lightning: The Carson Phillips Journal by Chris Colfer, The Uncle’s Story by Witi Ihimaera, Avatar: The Last Airbender comic book series by Gene Luen Yang, Watering Heaven by Peter Tierays Liu, number9dream by David Mitchell, Black Swan Green by David Mitchell, Bulibasha: King of the Gypsies by Witi Ihimaera, The Elephant Vanishes by Haruki Murakami, and The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan. Photo by Lauren Lola.

Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

Thought-provoking.  Thrilling.  Engaging.

What is your biggest reading secret?

This isn’t so much of a secret but rather an unknown fact about me (I don’t really have anything to hide when it comes to reading).  I actually really dislike fan fiction.  I think it’s annoying, it can be very graphic at times, and I find them disrespectful to the original creators.  I’m probably going to get a lot of hate for that, but that’s just how I am about them.

Side Note: In case you haven’t heard, my short story, The Shadows, is now available for purchase on Amazon!  Click here to check it out!

One thought on “Special Sunday Post: The Book Blogger Test

  1. Pingback: Thoughts About Love and Sex in Storytelling | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

