Reflection: 1 Month (+1 Day) Since the Release of “The Shadows”

With A Moment’s Worth now being less than three weeks away from its release, it’s soon to be all that the attention will be on in my life (though it already very much is as that release date is coming up).  However, before all goes full swing into that particular work of mine, I want to look back on my first release that technically did cement the beginning of my career as an author; my short story, The Shadows.

I released The Shadows exclusively on Amazon on May 27th, which means it’s now been one month and one day since then.  It’s a fantasy story that focuses on the Council of the Sun Spirits (the shadows) and their observations of present-day humanity.  However, after one particular meeting where the Chieftain has had enough of hearing about shootings, cowardice, harm towards the environment and such, he declares a ban on the sun from appearing for the rest of time on earth.  It’s left to the rest of the council to show him how not all of humanity is like that, and shouldn’t be punished for the actions of certain individuals.

Being an indie author, that also makes me the publisher of the short story too, and while people have downloaded and read it, the numbers of responses to it is nowhere near where I would have expected.  The responses that I have heard regarding The Shadows has been, for the most part, positive.  A guy my dad serves as a mentor to has read it, and said how it reminded him of Korean morality stories.  Another comment I heard from someone was that the dialogue of the spirits had reminded them of how Yoda- the old Jedi master from “Star Wars”- talks.  Both these comments, amongst others, I found quite flattering- in particular the “Star Wars”-related one.

But these comments are just a few of a few, and while I’ve been telling people that I personally know about it, it seems that not a whole lot seem to be as interested in reading it than I otherwise would have expected.  It’s inevitably frustrating.

We live in a time period where reading is not conducted unless if it’s in the form of a text message, in 140 or less characters, or in the form of a Facebook status.  I somewhat blame technology for that, for I think it has instilled a short attention span in a good chunk of my generation.  People are more likely to turn to Vine for a six-second video viewing experience than a 10-minute short film uploaded on YouTube; and people are more likely to “like” a Facebook status without really reading- and I mean really genuinely reading- the context of the status.

Reading for pleasure is almost out of the question unless you’re amongst the demographic of English majors, Nerdfighteria, or the 1/3 of introverts that make up the human population.  Harry Potter books may have made reading cool for kids back in the 90’s-early/mid 2000’s; but nowadays, there isn’t really a series that’s having as big of an affect anymore.

Another case would be the position I stand in; as an indie author, a millennial, and virtually an unknown compared to the rest of the world.  I don’t have the luxury of a team of people promoting my work as one were if signed to a publishing house, and I knew that and accepted that price the day I decided the indie route would be best for me to kick off my career.  But it’s frustrating when you are trying to promote your own work, and very few people- even amongst your own network of people that you already know– don’t take the time to check it out; even a work that’s as short as The Shadows.

I know that what I’m pursuing is not quite “relevant” as far as popular interests go.  I have friends who are pursuing music, jump-starting in acting, have directed or worked on films, etc.  Me?  I’m a writer.  I therefore produce content that’s going to require a different level of concentration to dissect, as opposed to listening to a new song from an indie artist.  But I pursue writing anyway.  It’s something I know I’m good at and, to some degree or another, does have an audience for.

A Moment’s Worth will be my first novel, but The Shadows remains just as important in my life.  It’s my first solo work to be published- and my first work to be available internationally as well!  I never thought I would accomplish such a thing two years ago, and yet here I am now, and am about to do it again for my novel, but on an even larger scale.  This is what I want to do, what I am doing, and that I aim to pursue for the rest of my life.

With that said, if you want to purchase The Shadows, you can click the link here and it will take you to its page on Amazon.  For anyone living outside the United States, just type in the name of the short story along with my name, and it should be there.

“Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do.  Where there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong.”

-Ella Fitzgerald

One thought on “Reflection: 1 Month (+1 Day) Since the Release of “The Shadows”

  1. Pingback: Happy 2-Year Anniversary to “The Shadows”! | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

