R-E-S-P-E-C-T

I know this is a little off-topic from the subject matter that I usually blog about, but after hearing and/or playing witness to a lot of negative events happening in our country, abroad, and even, as of a few days ago, in my personal life, I feel that I should take on this subject that Aretha Franklin once sang about back in the 60’s that became an ultimate hit.  Let’s talk about RESPECT.

I’m a strong believer in reciprocals; that if you treat me a certain way, then I’m going to treat you that way as well; whether that exchange is good or bad.  It’s all karma; what goes around, comes around.  I may have mentioned a few times before on how I’ve been dealing with a lot of trust issues within the last few years or so without dwelling too deeply into the cause, but really it has a lot to do with mounts of respect that I’ve lost in certain individuals.

To me, it seems that the definition of respect has been lost in translation over the course of modern time; seeing that it’s all part of a caste system of sorts.  The higher up you are (whether that be in regards to a job occupation, social standing, what race you are, how old you are, etc.), the more respect you’re likely to get.  But the reality is though, respect does not work out like that.  It’s about maintaining a modest class in treating one another like the regular human beings we all are, despite the titles we throw at each other.  Our standings are all makeshift in the end.  The level of respect we exchange amongst one another is the only thing that’s actually real in this equation.

So for the sake of letting my point come across as it is, I’ll say this: I don’t care who you, how much older you are than I am, how much money you have, or what your position is in society.  If you don’t treat me with the courteous respect that’s otherwise expect of every human being, then I’m not going to give you respect.  It’s really quite simple.  You back stab me, I turn on you.  You discriminate against me, I’ll see you only as an invaluable inferiority.  You purposely offend me, you’re out of my life with no second chances.

Same for if it’s a positive exchange; if you’re nice to me, I’ll be nice to you.  If you do something good for me, I’ll strive to make it up to you, to level out the playing field.  If you support me in my endeavors, I’ll support you, and vice versa.

It’s really not that hard to figure out.  It’s not brain surgery.  However, the way people make out what respect really is is far more complex than need be.

Again, I know very well that this is not subject matter I usually write about on my blog, but after all that’s been happening lately, I had to get this off my chest.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 3 reviews so there’s still a ways to go).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

 

Leave a Reply

