Going Forward As An Author

As I continue to promote and encourage people to check out A Moment’s Worth, I’m also thinking of my next tactics as an author.  I’ve made my mark as a new author and now I’m planning ahead as to where to go from there.

Already I’m in the early stages of planning for my second novel.  Nothing is set in stone yet; no actual writing has been done yet, as I’m still trying to figure out everything first (i.e. the characters, the setting, the plotline, etc.).  But it’s definitely happening.  While my first book did require some research- especially in regards to the locations that I’m not that familiar with or have never been to before- already I can tell that this second book is going to need even more research, but in different subject matter, and at deeper levels.  I can’t really say too much what this new novel is going to be about yet, especially since it’s way too early.  What I can say is that while it’s primarily going to be very different from A Moment’s Worth, I think there’s going to be some qualities/elements to it that were in the first one.

I’m also hoping to finally get something going with my children’s book sometime within the coming year.  I wrote it almost a year and a half ago and I’ve entered it in two competitions within the past year and it went absolutely nowhere in either of them.  With the fact that there’s a very high chance that the second novel won’t be coming out next year, I can actually focus and make a working effort to do something regarding the children’s book.  So we’ll see where that goes, especially since I want that one to be released in print.

I think that’s a hard thing that comes with being an author, that once you established yourself in that position, you’ve got to maintain it and grow from there; and with the fact that it’s primarily a solo effort (especially as an indie author), it really takes a lot of effort to do so and constantly stop and see how you can improve.  I knew what I was getting myself into when I decided to released A Moment’s Worth at the age of 22.  This is something I’ve wanted to do my whole life, and I knew that there would be no going back from here on out.

In which case, I’m willing to be in it for the long run.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 4 reviews so there’s still a ways to go).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

