A Summer of Book Promoting, Blogging, and Other Shenanigans

When I was growing up, never once had I ever been assigned to write one of those “What You Did Over Your Summer Vacation” essays.  I’ve always thought that would be such a fun assignment to do, but never once was I ever requested to do that.  However, with fall starting tomorrow and that I start my final quarter as an undergrad this coming Wednesday, I figured I take advantage of the fact that I own a blog and write my own “What I Did Over My Summer Vacation” essay, once and for all.  Besides, there’s been enough events that have taken place this past summer that definitely deserve an overview of sorts.

As I listen in on the corny dialogue provided at the parade for my hometown’s annual founder’s day celebration, I sit here and reflect back on what’s definitely been a busy summer for me.  While there’s such that can be considered normal for someone in my position, in a lot of ways, there have also been activities that reach beyond that otherwise.

I took a five-week course at the beginning of summer, in order to fulfill a requirement for my major.  I finish school this fall, and this was the one and only time this class was being offered, so I took care of it and am now on my way to being done.

I did a fantastic internship in San Francisco.  I was surrounded by incredible people whenever there and found myself doing work that I otherwise would have never imagined myself doing.

There’s also been plenty of blogging going on, both on my blog and for Kollaboration, and in a day and age where bloggers are really taking shape as figures with a genuine voice and having something to say- when using their blogging powers effectively, of course- I feel that I’m starting to grasp a better understanding for that concept.  I continue to learn and grow from being a blogger and I enjoy doing it.  Just earlier this summer for Kollaboration, I had the pleasure of interviewing graphic novelist Gene Luen Yang on his latest publication, The Shadow Hero.

And of course, as I’ve been blogging about on here all along for the past several months, I released my debut novel, A Moment’s Worth, back in July.  I’m still going at it, as far as getting people aware of its existence, and I don’t see myself stopping at all in the near future.  I worked hard on this book and I want it to get the recognition that it deserves.  So far, people who have read it have really enjoyed it and there have been two blogs who’ve conducted reviews on it as well; The Best Slice of Pie wrote one last month, and as of yesterday, the girls of Maci and Zoe Read Books released one too.  As I continue to promote my debut novel, I’m now in the developing stages for my second one.

In between time, I have managed to squeeze in a little bit of summer activities, such as seeing summer movies, hanging out with friends, doing some summer reading, and even watching “Motown the Musical” in San Francisco last night.  I tried to make the best of a so-called “carefree summer” when I could, and even in those seldom activities of such, I value with gratitude.

Summer is pretty much gone at this point as the temperatures cool down and the sun goes down sooner.  I plan to continue the extent of what I’ve been doing for the most part during the summer as we go forward into the season of fall, and await to see what goes from there.  I’m almost done with college, and I’m already a published author.  Those facts alone I cannot help but find incredibly special.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

