Behind the Moments: Origins

In honor of  the three months since A Moment’s Worth came out, for the month of October, I shall be doing a series where I reveal some background history of the novel each week.  I might include some content that may contain spoilers, so be careful when reading if you haven’t already read the book yet.  I hope you enjoy.

So it took about a year and half to completely get A Moment’s Worth from something that it was in my head, to being available worldwide digitally.  I wrote a little bit of it when I was 20, I wrote most of it when I was 21, and the rewrites were done earlier this year at the age of 22.  So at the point we’re at in the calendar year now, we’re very much approaching two years since the project officially started.  I’ve talked about how this project got started in the few interviews that I’ve done, but now, I’m going to go more in-depth on it.

So it’s the late summer of 2012 and by that point, I had been on a dry spell as far as creative writing goes.  Around that time, all the writing that I had been doing had been journalism-based writing and the writing that I would do in the confinements of my journals.  With the major that I have in school, there are hardly ever any opportunities to write creatively for school, so there was a bit of a sacrifice in that.  Just generally on my own time, I didn’t know what to write.  I was caught in a solid writer’s block.

That same summer, one of my favorite authors, Chris Colfer, had released his first book of his now New York Times Bestseller series, The Land of Stories.  He was my age at the time of that first publication, and I remember reading it, thinking of how crazy it was that I was holding a book, written by someone who was only two years older than me, and was hitting big on the New York Times Bestseller list.  It’s with that that I felt extremely bad for myself, feeling like I hadn’t amounted much with my own writing career, despite being only 20-years-old at the time and being halfway done with college.

It also didn’t help that I had never written a novel before then.  I technically wrote two books before I turned 18, but they were both novellas (a book between 20,000-40,000 words), and I never went anywhere with those.

So it’s September 2012, and I decide to enter in a short story competition being offered by San Jose State University.  The 11th anniversary of 9/11 had just passed and so the 9/11 Memorial in New York had been open for over a year at the time.  The fire was fueled and one thing led to another, I wrote a short story that is now Chapter 10 in the novel, “More Than Stars” (although then, it was called “To the Stars and Back”).  I submitted it into the competition, only to find out several weeks later that it did not make it as a finalist.

Unknowingly, the writer’s block had been lifted.  A few weeks after I wrote “More Than Stars,” I came up with another short story that is now Chapter 1 of the novel, “Roommates.”  It wasn’t for another competition or anything; it was just for the sake of doing some creative writing.

By December, after thinking over the two short stories on my plate, I decided to write a book.  I knew then that the title would be A Moment’s Worth and it was originally thought to be a short story collection.  So I officially started writing the book that month and the third story (chapter) that I wrote for it was what is now the last chapter, “2052.”

I continued working on this presumed short story collection during the first few months of 2013.  At the same time, I started watching Tim Kring’s TV series, “Touch,” and I was reading a lot of David Mitchell novels.  There was never anything specific thematically as I went about with writing the stories; I was just writing them as I thought of them.  However, upon exposure to material by both Kring and Mitchell, along with a desire already to include the character Yvonne in more than one story, the short story collection eventually started evolving into something else.  By that summer, when I made it known to my family and friends that I was writing a book, I knew for a fact by then that I was actually writing a novel.

How the structure came together developed overtime.  I literally have a hand-drawn web as to how the characters all connect to each other.  I had a full-on grasp onto what I was creating by then and I knew in my heart of hearts that this was definitely not going to be a typical debut novel.

And as they say, the rest is history.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

One thought on “Behind the Moments: Origins

  1. I never knew before that “A Moment’s Worth” started by you writing short stories! That’s really awesome. I’m re-reading the “More Than Stars” chapter now and I really loved how you captured that whole interaction between Angelia and Dagny. I felt like Dagny could spin off into future stories of her own.

Leave a Reply

