Re-reading “After Dark” Post-Debut Publication

Today marks four months since the publication of my debut novel of A Moment’s Worth (crazy, I know) and the past few days, I’ve been re-reading a book that I read for the first time earlier in the year.  I’m re-reading Haruki Murakami’s After Dark.  Now normally I wait a while- such as a year, maybe more- before re-reading a book, just so I can re-read it with a refreshed mindset.  However, with a month left of school for me, I checked it out of my school’s library for a purpose that many tend to best put it as “for science.”

A friend of mine who read A Moment’s Worth pretty much right when it was released described it as similar to Murakami’s styling; in particular he said it was reminiscent to After Dark, especially since my book involves characters- often two at a time- meeting each other under such unique circumstances.  Same can go for this particular Murakami novel, such as when Mari met Tetsuya, and later when she met Kaoru (apologies if I may have partially spoiled the book for anyone who hasn’t read it).  So in other words, I’m starting to see what my friend is saying in that regard.  But nonetheless, I am taking my time with After Dark this time around and am reading it slowly.  The book is less that 300 pages and I’m not even at page 100 yet.

I’m not sure if I can really consider Murakami as an influence of mine.  I’ve named my influences when writing A Moment’s Worth and I was truthful in naming the ones that I named.  I hadn’t even read a single book by Murakami when writing.  It wasn’t until while I was editing the book earlier this year that I started reading his books and yet even then, I wasn’t channeling my “inner Murakami” when doing some of the re-writes.  Now that I’ve read a majority of his novels, I can definitely see some resemblance, but I would consider it as nothing more than a happy accident.

A writer friend of mine, Peter Tieryas Liu, has also experienced his share of comparisons between his works and Murakami’s- maybe even more so (and if you’ve read his works, you might see what I mean).  In fact, when he was interviewed by Hyphen Magazine several months ago, that subject was brought up, and he said how despite the fact that he himself has never read any of Murakami’s work, he now avoids them like the plague, just so his influence won’t rub off on him than need be.  But I do recall him telling me one time that he’ll get around to reading his works eventually.  At this point, I think it’s safe to say that it’s bound to happen.

Murakami’s works have been around since the 70’s, and at this point, I think that it’s safe to assume that he’s a very influential writer for other writers- even those who may be influenced by him indirectly.

“Irony means taking an objective or inverted view of oneself or of something belonging to oneself and discovering oddness in that.” –After Dark by Haruki Murakami

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

