My Not-So Secretive Secret

Once you post something online, it’s there for the world to see.  While that may sound kind of scary, really it’s all about finding and searching the correct key terms before you’re discovered.  On the other hand, it also helps to share via word of mouth.  That definitely saves a lot of time when sharing something that’s on the extensive, content-filled world of the Internet.

A Moment’s Worth has been available to the world for four months now, and while a certain number of people at my school know about it (simply because they’ve been told directly), other than that, a majority of the campus doesn’t know.  I’m taking five classes during this last quarter of school and out of all of my professors, only one of them knows that I’m a published author.  The weird part?  I wasn’t even the one who told him.  It was a friend of mine who did.  This professor’s response: “And you’re Doctor who?”  (I’m not going to lie, it was a bit flattering to see how stunned he was.) 

It’s funny whereas in another class, another professor of mine constantly jokes around about how people my age nowadays hardly ever read for fun.  Just to prove his point, one day he asked us who reads for fun and out of the 110 students in that class, only about 12-15 people raised their hands.  It’s evident enough that he would be very impressed to hear about one of his own students actually publishing a book.  However, I always consider timing to be a wise factor when revealing something like that.  But if I were to tell him, it has to be fairly soon at this point, seeing that I have less than three weeks of school left.

Do you get what I mean by perfect timing and at the right place at that?  It’s like being at a cocktail party where you’re trying to woe someone into realizing that you’re a really impressive human being.  Maybe an even more familiar scenario would be the elevator scenario where you have, at most, 30 seconds to tell that faithful rider about whatever it is that you do, and pray that that person has power of sorts to help guide your destiny in the direction you want to go.  I haven’t actually been in that scenario (well, yet, anyway), but I bet you that if I ever wind up in an elevator ride with someone such as Ellen Degeneres, I can assure you that she would know about A Moment’s Worth the minute she steps into the elevator.  Besides, it’s about time she starts looking for guests to invite onto her show who don’t spend all day taking selfies or who go viral on the Internet for being annoying.

It’s just a “in that case scenario” theory is all.  But generally speaking, school is a good place for telling people that I am an author.  We’re all within the same network and same environment almost on a daily, and I guess it would be interesting for people to hear about someone their age writing and publishing a book already.  Already we have alumni, some of whom have attended my school far before I was even born, who publish books and are occasionally invited to campus for a reading or something along those lines.  To have an author from the school who’s still enrolled as a student is a slightly different matter.

To put on the breaks real quick though, I cannot help but constantly consider who I tell it to.  Most professors, being older and all, would be quite impressed to hear something like this.  Telling this to my fellow peers on the other hand, unless if they were an English major, then it really depends on their reaction.  Already one fellow student- who actually knew about the book since the day it came out- hadn’t even bothered buying and downloading it until I called him out on it last month (and as you already know, it has been a struggle to get many of my “friends” to do).

Who I tell about my “not-so secretive secret” can vary on so many levels.  But timing it helps.  I must say though that while sitting in my afternoon class on Thursday, looking around at students chatting amongst themselves, some on their phones, some passing around food to eat for the viewing of the propaganda films we watched in class that day, I couldn’t help but think: “They don’t even know.”  I don’t consider it insulting at all.  I find it quite interesting actually- fascinating even- as I sat there as anything but a passive observer.  I’m a writer; I’m always forming opinions.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

One thought on “My Not-So Secretive Secret

  1. Pingback: Reflection: 6 Months (+2 Days) Since the Release of “A Moment’s Worth” | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

