A Brief Commentary on “The Waiting Game”

So in case you didn’t already know or see, last Sunday I was the subject of the Spotlight Sunday feature on Zealous Scripts.  I participated in an interview and I also provided a short story to accompany it called “The Waiting Game.”  It’s a story about a gay man who finds out his boyfriend has been taken to a hospital on account of being found unconscious following a possible mugging, and while he deals with the worry and stress, his roommate comforts him in the most unlikely of ways.

As it’s become a tradition on this blog to provide a commentary of some type whenever I release such works- such as what I did for “The Shadows” and A Moment’s Worth– I figured it be wisest to continue it and provide some background info on how I came up with “The Waiting Game.”  This commentary will likely be a little more informal than previous ones, just to give you a heads up now.  Also, as always, be careful for spoilers if you haven’t read it yet.

created by Lauren Lola

created by Lauren Lola

I first found out about Zealous Scripts back in or around June when the owner, Tiana, liked one of my posts.  When I checked out her blog, not only did I find it to be a space for her to write about her own writing endeavors as well as writing advice, but she had also put together a call for entries for any and all upcoming and new-coming writers who wanted to be featured on her Spotlight Sunday feature.  Seeing it as an opportunity for exposure, I decided to partake in it.  It was when I noticed that I needed to include a writing piece of sorts did I see a call for creativity.

The short piece could have been anything; flash fiction, poetry, essay, etc.  I saw this as an opportunity for a short story idea that I’ve had with me for a while, and on a subject matter that I’ve been interested in exploring for quite some time; the subject of a person finding out that their significant other is in the hospital.

One may see such a scenario play out numerous times on TV as opposed to in real life; like if they’re a hospital drama junkie or something like that.  But of course such scenes don’t have their limits in genre of course, for it took a Season 5 episode of “Glee” to summon up such an influence.

Let it be known now that what that show has become is not the show I originally fell in love with.  I think the writing and storytelling quality has dramatically decreased within the last two years, which is why this past season, I stopped watching it on a weekly basis.  It wasn’t until during break from an evening class back in April when I was checking Twitter that I noticed “Poor Kurt” trending on there.  Curiously I checked it out, only to find out that in that night’s episode, the character Kurt was beaten up after defending someone and taken to a hospital.

When I watched the episode later on on Hulu, there were many questions that came to me during that scenario, as far as the plot goes.  How long did Kurt lie unconscious in that alley?  Who found him?  Who called 9-1-1?  Did he have to be brought into ER at all?  Did he wake up between the time of that scene and the scene where he’s seen sleeping in his hospital bed?  Questions came to me even in regards to the production of that episode.  For instance, did they really film at a hospital and was that a real IV drip and heart monitor the actor was hooked onto?

But for the most part though, the audience never really gets to see what happens in between Point A (getting severely hurt) and Point B (in a hospital bed), and even though my short story doesn’t answer those questions, it does address the matter.  Besides, who doesn’t think of these questions when they find out their loved one is in such a condition?

Despite the serious subject matter, I didn’t want it to be heavy, dark, and- for the sake of storytelling- cliche.  As always, I wanted to put my own spin on it.  I wanted to find the irony and oddness in such a situation as this and make it almost like a funny thing in a way.  Hence revealing the roommate as a rapper, who performs a free verse for the sake of comfort.  My influence for that you ask?  For once, I can say that it was one of my favorite artists: Lorde.

Some may not know that prior to releasing her debut album “Pure Heroine,” a New Zealand news station did a story on her when she was still working on it.  In that segment, she can be seen recording a song that never made it to her album that’s commonly known as “Hospital.”  From what can be made of the lyrics, it’s about a group of friends who are waiting to hear about the condition of a friend who’s under hospital care.  However, the way the song is done instrumentally is kind of light-hearted and with a beat.  It’s a song that, had it been released, would probably be one a listener would head bob to, despite the subject matter it addresses.  Here’s the video clip of that:

Music tends to make many circumstances a little more brighter.  It can make a train commute less boring, a party more fun, and address subjects such as these in multiple ways of tone.  While the rapper can be seen as a sort of comic relief, as I try to make evident, he’s also a very important part of “The Waiting Game.”

So I’m therefore grateful to have appeared on Zealous Scripts.  I not only got to share a little bit about myself, but it gave me the opportunity to write such a story.  It was a short experimental piece- meddling with subject matter that I’ve otherwise never written about before- and despite the grammatical errors (my apologies for that by the way), I really like how it turned out.  So if you haven’t read “The Waiting Game” or my interview, be sure to check it out here.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

One thought on “A Brief Commentary on “The Waiting Game”

  1. Pingback: UPDATE: It’s called “Lost Boys”! | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

