Reflection: 6 Months (+2 Days) Since the Release of “A Moment’s Worth”

I can’t believe it’s been that long already.  I can’t believe it’s been six months since the release of my debut novel, A Moment’s Worth.  As I gaze upon every single one of the pages where it can be purchased, I think of how much time has passed since that faithful summer day.  It feels like a long time ago, but at the same time, it doesn’t.

Since the day of its release, not a whole lot has changed in my life.  I’m nowhere near famous, so I’m not being stalked or anything creepy of that capacity.  I can still go out and about and no one will do the double take in my direction- and in many ways, that’s a relief.  I can still be normal.  But, as recapped on several times before on my blog, the continual marketing for the book remains to be a challenge.

A few more people have since learned about the existence of my novel.  However, getting people to buy it and read it still remains to be an agonizing task.  It’s because of that that the last time someone did a review of A Moment’s Worth was four months ago.  What’s also become an emerging frustration is people looking at my status as a self published author and think that that’s not good enough for whatever it is I’m trying to do.  From getting my book available to check out at libraries, to getting it reviewed by people, I’ve had so many doors slammed in my face, simply because they will not accept self published books.

I’m pretty sure I’ve iterated this in another blog post, but let me put it in perspective again: Whether if a book is coming out of Little, Brown or from an unknown, if a book has a copyright page, has the necessary paperwork done in its favor, and has an ISBN code, guess what?  It’s a published book!    I swear, it’s happened to me so many times now, I’m close to pulling the discrimination card.  It’s especially stupid when I’m told this and yet there’s nothing available online, saying otherwise that they won’t accept self published books and authors.

As it’s made evident, it remains to be a struggle to get people to check out A Moment’s Worth.  Honestly, I feel that I’d have to get someone famous to read it at this rate, just to see some real progress made.  I keep pushing through to get it out there by any means necessary, but despite having school off my shoulders, it remains to be a little difficult to completely devote myself to when I have other things going on in my life- including the work I’m doing for my second novel.

But I can’t say that I’m 100% sour by the six months past since its release.  In fact, within the past three months, there have been a few delights that would pop up as a result of A Moment’s Worth being out there in the world.

For instance, I’ve come across two webpages- one of them a blog, the other a Facebook page- where two quotes from the book are used.  I was quite happy when I came across them.  I don’t know if this means that the individuals behind these two webpages have read my book, or if they have come across them online (maybe from this page).  Either way, they’re both reassuring sites to see, for it shows that my words are affecting people out there.

I also finally got around to telling that one professor about my book before I finished school, and he was very impressed.  He told me that he’s actually working on his first book at the moment, and so when he got an e-mail saying that one of this own students has already published a book, he found that very inspiring.  It’s fair to say that it was kind of like one of those “from student to teacher” moments.

I’ve also gotten some help along the way as far as getting the word out there about it, including from one of my relatives.  There was even one scenario where I was meeting with a friend of mine who was visiting from LA, and when we got into discussion about A Moment’s Worth, he actually downloaded a copy of it on his phone right then and there.  It’s these gestures of assistance that I really value, when I haven’t gotten a whole lot beforehand.

It’s been six months since A Moment’s Worth came out, and that’s something worth celebrating, despite it all.  I’m humbled by anyone and everyone who’s helped get the word out about it and those who’ve bought it and read it as well.  It truly means a lot.  I plan to continue marketing it, and await to see where it’s at in another six months from now when it reaches its one-year anniversary.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

