Forever 22

About a year ago, I was pondering over what was yet to come for me as I was on the verge of turning 22.  Now, once again, I’m in that same position, although of course there’s a one digit difference.  I am now two days away from turning 23.

Growing up, you’re told by adults how time flies as you get older, and you never really believe it.  It’s not until you actually do get older and actually experience it for yourself.  For that matter, in the case of motioning from one birthday to another, I can’t believe it went by so fast.

I remember at this time a year ago, I made it bluntly aware of how unfulfilled I felt in my life, despite all that I had going on, on my plate at the time.  Well, I can assure myself now that this past year of being 22 has certainly made up for that feeling of lacking.

photo by Lauren Lola

photo by Lauren Lola

If there’s anything that Taylor Swift and I have in common is that the age of 22 was a good age for both of us (and that is the first and only time I’ll ever reference Taylor Swift on this blog).  I got to do many incredible things this past year, but of course, my two most proudest accomplishments are finishing my undergrad education and publishing my debut novel.  Not a lot of people can say they accomplished both in the same year and at that age, but I have every right to say so otherwise.  I’ve realized that even if turning a certain age isn’t a societal-hyped age- as it is for turning 21- how you make most of the age you’re at is what makes it memorable for the rest of your life.  For me, being 21 was about blood, sweat, and tears.  22 was about putting it all together and seeing what I can accomplish when I put my mind to things.

It’s with that that I feel uneasy about turning 23, as silly as that may sound.  I know age is just a number, but as we humans are prone to doing (as our history shows), we try to find meaning in all sorts of things, including numbers.  Already when I was telling someone the other day how I’m turning 23 this Monday, he said that that’s a good age.  He said how he missed being 23, for it was a time- for him at least- of reaffirming your adult friendships and relationships.  I’m sure there was more to it where that came from, but that’s at least what he told me.

As I’ve seen from being 22, it’s all about making the most of your age.  Even though I’m not in school right now nor am I releasing a book this year, that doesn’t mean that I have things going on that are just as satisfying to the hard-working soul- which, of course, includes my second novel.  That, along with other potential happenings that are lined up for the months ahead, are already signifying the fact that age 23 is going to be another good one for me.

Still though, I must be honest with myself that I’ll miss being a 22-year-old, which is why deep down, I think a part of me will always consider myself to be forever 22 (see what I did there?).  With that, let me take a minute to take advantage of writing out this very real fact for one of the last times:

My name is Lauren.  I’m 22-years-old.  I’m a college graduate and a published author.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

