Thoughts About Being a Visual Learner

I’m the oldest of three, and if there was one thing my mom was looking forward to at the time she had me was the day I’d be able to talk and be able to express my thoughts out loud.  Unfortunately that day would come a lot later than normally expected when, as a toddler, I was discovered to have a case of speech and language delay.  What I mean by a language delay is that I did not develop language abilities at the proper age.  A speech delay resulted in part by the language delay, for while I sounded like I was saying words, on an oral/dictation level, I was not.  It was with that that I was made sure I received the proper therapy needed to correct my delays.

I went to a special ed preschool where it helped in correcting my language delay and catching me up to speed at where I should be, communication-wise.  During elementary school, I saw a speech therapist once every other week for four years to improve my speech.  Thanks to both of those forms of aid, by the time I was ready to enter junior high school, I could talk and communicate properly for someone my age.

With my delays at a young age, it did result in a slight setback that very much is with me for life.  I have a hard time receiving oral instructions to do something physical.  I guess the language delay was enough to where it impacted me in that way.  I register oral instructions for a physical task much more slowly than what is considered normal.  That doesn’t mean there’s something mentally or neurologically wrong with me.  It just means that that is how my brain processes that kind of information.  That’s the way it works.  And believe me when I say that it’s super frustrating at times; especially when I’m adept at being a visual learner.

An auditory learner is one who remembers information by what they’ve heard and listened to.  A visual learner is one who remembers information by what they’ve read or seen.  I guess it’s more of a nature trait on the nature vs. nurture way of things, for despite not being able to speak properly when I was younger, my interest for reading and storytelling was evident even then; through the stories I would draw to make up for my lack of being to write at the time, and my desire to sit and go through my collection of books on my own, despite being unable to read then.

Being a visual learner certainly has its advantages.  I have a better time remembering something from what I’ve read than some, I can remember if I’ve seen a certain photograph before or not, I have a better time at determining at whether or not a word is misspelled based on how it looks, I can recount a beautiful landscape in all its glorious sight, and more.  I think being a visual learner especially helps when you’re an author, in case scenarios such as to where you’re trying to determine whether or not you’ve used the same word to describe something twice within the same paragraph.  It also helps in proof reading, so as to you can spot mistakes more easily based on what you see.

Of course as made evident earlier, being a visual learner can also leave me impaired at times.  I’m one of those people who has a hard time remembering people’s names when I first meet them, whereas their faces are something that remains firmly imprinted in my memory.  While I don’t mind someone reading aloud a story, I also wouldn’t mind it if there was a copy of it written down as well.  It can be especially difficult when playing sports- I practice taekwondo, for those who don’t know- and I’m being told to do a certain move, but there’s no visual aid accompanying it.  It can be really difficult.

But at the end of the day, I don’t mind being a visual learner.  It’s definitely considered a strength if anything- especially as an author.  I think that may also be why I’ve always preferred written communication over oral communication; for I can visually see the message I’m attempting to send across, and without interruptions too.  That’s not to say that I have absolutely no skill in learning at on an auditory level as well.  I just have to work a tad bit harder at it.

It just goes to show though that at the end of the day, we all have our own ways of learning.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

