Writing About the Future (Second Novel Status Report #1)

At the time I established this blog, I guess you can say that it was at good timing.  I was already in the editing stage for A Moment’s Worth and I found myself talking about various concepts related to the novel, leading up to its release.  For my second novel though, I find myself blogging not during a sliver of its making, but rather the whole way through; and with that, I’ve been wondering for a while as to when would be the wisest time to say anything about it.  It’s been three months since I started writing my second novel, and with that, I decided to go ahead and say something in particular about it.

I’ve been vague on details to many people regarding what it’s about conceptually.  What I have been explicit about though is the fact that my second novel takes place in the future.

There definitely seems to be a market for that nowadays; with books like The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner coming to mind.  Aside from the shared commonality of having it set in a future time period goes, these books are also dystopian-based.

It’s that right there that makes my second novel differ from such books (that along with the fact that it’s going to be a stand alone).  We’ve become so accustomed to seeing a future portrayed in books and on screens where it’s very undesirable, and I don’t know if it’s to satisfy our subconscious need to see negativity or what.  I don’t think it’s very mentally healthy to keep portraying a future no one would dare to be around for, and it’s with that that I want to portray a future where a lot has improved in the scheme of things, but there are still issues that are in need of being dealt with; kind of like how things are now but with a futuristic twist.

Already I’ve somewhat explored this realm of writing in A Moment’s Worth, but it’s with this new novel that I’m going in full on.  There are many things to consider about the possibilities that the future may hold, and therefore many questions about how everything and anything could change in the decades to come; not only in terms of technological advances, but also regarding how our culture will change too.

What kind of technology will be available to us?  Will the hover board ever be invented?  Will there come a time where motor vehicles will be able to run on anything other than fossil fuels?  What medical advances will be made in the time ahead?  Will our education system ever improve beyond the state it’s in now?  What lingo will be used by the future generation of kids?  How will social media advance?  How will politics change?

When first thinking this over at the beginning of writing the novel, I couldn’t help but feel overwhelmed.  I had to consider the possibilities across the spectrum, for a world that has yet to come, but could be shifted in several ways.  But it wasn’t long before I considered what would be best for the story and how to go about telling it.  For instance, I’m not going to touch upon every single change that’s made in the future unless it’s applicable to the storytelling.  I’m not going to have all the answers for how the world will be by the time I’m of old age.  I’m just going to incorporate not only what I consider necessary in moving the story forward, but also what I would like to see in the future ahead.  It’ll be a good mix of realism and optimism; realistic in terms of how it could bounce off of the issues we are dealing with today, optimistic in terms of how the world could change for the better in my eyes.

That’s just one of many goals I hope to accomplish with the novel I’m working on now; especially since I have a hard time accepting the ongoing enforced possibility of how our society could all fall apart in the future to come.  I want to provide an alternative to that kind of narrative once and for all.

That is a sliver as to what I’ve been working on as of lately.  It will probably be another few months before I reveal more about the novel-in-progress, so consider this a vague yet satisfying, relatively early sneak peek.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 5 reviews so I’m already a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

 

Leave a Reply

