Journey Alone

As one can likely imagine, to write a book is a solo effort.  Unless if you’re part of the rare exceptions where you’re co-writing a project with someone, you’re pretty much the master mind behind it all; in creating the characters, the settings, the plot, and what not.  It’s very fulfilling, for you don’t have to give in to anyone else’s input other than your own.  As modest as you may be, at the end of the day, you are the god of your own little world.

Writing A Moment’s Worth was a challenge for sure.  There’s no denying it.  However, I think the only challenge that was adamantly present was as to whether or not I could write something at the length of a novel.  As far as being on my own and writing solo goes, that was never an issue for me.  If anything, writing the novel- or just writing in general- for me is the extension of my journey alone.

Now let’s not be mistaken.  When I say my journey alone, I don’t mean that I am lonely.  To be alone and to feel lonely are both very different things.  You could be amongst of sea of people and still feel lonely.  But to be alone can, at times, bring contemplation and a sense of relief.

I had mentioned briefly a little while ago that I am very much introvert.  I thrive when solo or with a very minimal group of people.  But anything beyond the accompaniment of a single digit number of people and the energy can be drained out of me.  And if anything, I think this hails from the nature aspect of the nature vs. nurture argument.

I can name several aspects of my life that have led me to the way I function now.  Growing up, I was by no means a popular kid in school, and so I would only surround myself with only a select number of close friends.  I would dread group projects, for I would often times be the one doing most- if not all- the work.  Outside of school, I ultimately had no role model to look up to- not in the media let alone my personal life.  Anytime I would try to, the individual would always fail in a way as to where I could never look at them the same way again.

A lot of what I gained in learning about myself as person was from what I’ve been able to figure out on my own, which is a skill I still use to this day.  And it’s with that that my being able to perform on a solo effort naturally comes to me as a writer.

Despite being able to write a novel, I know that it’s still not enough.  In contradiction to my position as an indie writer, mainstream writers still have one advantage over me, and that is a small but elite team of people who get the word out, schedule interviews, and urge people to read the respective author’s latest literary endeavor.

And those are tasks that I’ve had to take on myself as an indie author.  I had to become my own publicist.  But with social media nowadays, to make something word of mouth is a lot easier to do and can truly spread like wild fire.  However, as I’ve voraciously mentioned many times within the past year, that is something I’ve received very little support in.  I don’t know if it’s because what I created involves reading or what, but either way, to this day I’m still surprised by the lack of support I’ve gotten from people I know about my book.

It’s with that that I can already imagine the acknowledgments page of my second novel being evidently shorter than the one for the first novel.  It’s by ways and means of configuring who is actually there for me.  I can fly solo all I want, but those who wind up showing their support are the ones who will be most truly appreciated at the end of the day, for raving about my work ethic will only take you so far.

I have to say that it was difficult writing this particular post, not only thematically speaking but also in terms of where I want to take it.  I could rant all I want about my struggles through empty words and broken promises as an indie author, and I apologize to those who’ve heard me rant about it before.  But what I’ve gained from my experience as an author this past year is that at the end of the day, regardless of how many people choose to back me up, I am my own cheerleader.  At the end of the day, I journey alone, and will succeed in doing so despite it all.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, iTunesPlease leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 6 reviews so I’m already past a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

One thought on “Journey Alone

  1. Pingback: Forging Paths (Journey Alone Pt. II) | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

