Special Wednesday Post: Happy One-Year Anniversary to “A Moment’s Worth”!

designed by Lauren Lola

designed by Lauren Lola

The concept of time flying is no joke, for it can pass by incredibly fast.  It’s a concept that comes to mind for me especially as I look back on what happened a year ago today.

Today is the one-year anniversary since the release of my debut novel, A Moment’s Worth.  After a year and a half of devoting blood, sweat, and tears to the beginning of a lifelong dream of mine, it officially took off on July 15, 2014 with this particular work of mine.  For those who don’t know what it’s about, here is the synopsis for A Moment’s Worth:

Is the interconnectivity of the human race more than just the fundamentals of the Chinese tale of the red thread? Is the line between what’s real and what’s not as fine as we’ve been led to believe? How do narratives intersect each other without colliding and clashing? What can be uncovered, discovered, and even learned in a short period of time?

In her debut novel, Lauren Lola presents a cast of characters as they go about life as they know it, but not always in the most usual of circumstances. Some characters will mingle amongst each other, some will never meet; some whose identities take a while to be unveiled, some are left a mystery. From a UCLA freshman getting to know her celebrity roommate, to a man who unintentionally takes the San Francisco BART to a variety of locations beyond its final stop; from a fatherless girl who believes in the stars, to a young woman who carries the burden of being human, A Moment’s Worth is guaranteed to leave eyes seeing life a little more differently than before, for those who keep their minds wide open.

It’s been a year already and from people who’ve read it, the response has been primarily positive.  Some have said it’s a good book for people watchers (and being a people watcher myself, I can see what they mean by that).  I’ve heard it described as somewhat of a spiritual guide by one person and as a literary palate cleanser from another.  One can imagine how overwhelmingly wonderful it is for a first-time author to hear praises such as these.

There are many people to thank, and I mean just beyond those whose names show up on the Acknowledgements page.  If you’ve taken the time to download A Moment’s Worth as well as reading it, I humbly thank you for doing so.  It’s because of people like you that helps me believe that I have a voice that’s worth rising and being read.  If you’ve reviewed A Moment’s Worth at all, I thank you as well.  Any feedback is always good, especially for a first-time author, so I really appreciate those who’ve taken the time to do so.  To those who have helped spread the word about it, I am forever in your debt, as an author who’s without a PR team.  I can only do so much on my own, so any assistance in spreading the word about my novel is greatly appreciated.

It’s at this time where I’d like to make a little announcement.  In celebration of the one-year anniversary of A Moment’s Worth, from today through to next Wednesday, I have lowered the price for it on Amazon to $1.99.  The reason why through Amazon is due to the fact that that’s the platform where my book has been mostly downloaded from.  So in case if you haven’t read the book yet, now you can buy it for a lower price than before.  A Moment’s Worth is available on other platforms as well- such as Barnes & Noble, Kobo, iTunes, and Smashwords– but the prices will remain the same.

I also encourage people to keep leaving reviews for A Moment’s Worth.  It may have only been a year, but like a said before, the more feedback I receive, the better.  Also, if you are active on Goodreads, then please note the two trivia quizzes I put on the page for the novel.  If you feel like testing your memory about certain aspects of the novel, head on over there.

It’s been an interesting first year as an author, and I look forward to many more to come.  Already I’m at the beginning of the editing process for my second novel, and I’m planning to give a copy of A Moment’s Worth to a particular author this Friday.  A full report about that will appear as this Saturday’s regular blog post.

Once again, many thanks to all who’ve supported me and my debut novel in some capacity or another throughout the past year.  Let’s keep it going!

-Lauren

One thought on “Special Wednesday Post: Happy One-Year Anniversary to “A Moment’s Worth”!

  1. Pingback: Happy 2-Year Anniversary to “A Moment’s Worth”! | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

