From Writing to Editing (Second Novel Status Report #2)

It’s been four months since I made the first update regarding progress on my second novel.  Since then I’ve mentioned it briefly here and there, without going too in-depth on the process.  However, I feel that enough time has passed now that I found it appropriate to write up another update.  Besides, since my first update, I’ve transitioned to a new stage in the process.

A little over two weeks ago, I finished the rough draft of the second novel.  It took a little over six months to write it (which is a shorter period of time than when I wrote A Moment’s Worth), and maybe the cool thing about it is it’s longer as well.  Since then, I’ve begun the editing process.  At the moment, I’m going through it myself and making edits.  I already knew ahead of time that there would be things I would want to change in the manuscript, and so now I’m taking the time to do so.

Here we go again. Let the editing commence! #secondnovel #AAM #writerslife

A post shared by Lauren Lola (@akolaurenlola) on

Of course my edits can only do so much, for a time will come where I have to have another pair of eyes to take a look at it… and that’s not going to be easy.  I’m currently in search of a new editor, as much as I don’t want to.  I knew I would reach this point eventually, but for a while I didn’t have to worry about it so much because I was still in the writing stage.  Well, I don’t have that particular luxury anymore, as the time for editing has come, and finding someone to be an editor is no easy task.

It’s been about four months since the death of the editor of A Moment’s Worth.  As much as I’d like to have her serve as the editor again, unfortunately that’s something that’s no longer possible.  Having Cheryl Morris as my editor was extremely beneficial and convenient.  Not only did she give me astounding input on how to strengthen the content, but she also was already a natural storyteller herself and someone whom I could highly rely on.  She was a rare human to come by, and now I have to find someone who could not only adequately provide similar feedback, but also have my full-on faith in them.

In the mean time though, aside from editing, I also have thought back upon the first update I wrote regarding this novel, where I discussed how I wanted it to primarily reflect off of what could realistically happen in the future, but also what could optimistically happen in the future.  Well, since that update, various events in the news have since surfaced that almost accommodate and/or reflect the events that happen in this novel; so much as to where I’m in turn bouncing off of these happenings.  I wonder how often of an occurrence that is for authors who write actively in the science fiction genre.  How often do events come around that are almost close to what they’re writing in their own novels?

Any who, that’s really all that I can say about the progress of the second novel for the time being.  It might be another while before I say any more about it.  However, just know that blood, sweat, and tears are still being actively shed for this second work of mine.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 7 reviews so I’m already past a quarter of a way to my goal).

Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

