Ab hoc momento pendet aeternitas: Recommended Reading

Today’s post is not one of my more typical weekly posts, and out of an unfortunate reason.  For the second time this year, another family friend passed away a few days ago, and I have since been in mourning in between other happenings and therefore haven’t been able to figure out a topic for this week.

So instead of blogging about a specific topic, I’m doing something a little different and am giving a recommended reading link.  Last week, I came across this article the New York Times published about how the word “moment” is “having a moment.”  The author, Sam Anderson, goes it depth on how it applies in today’s era by means of standout presidential candidates of the moment, as well as cultural trends of the moment.  He explains how the concept of the time traces back to Ancient Greek philosophy- chronos and kairos– and also how the length of a moment has even escaped its original measure of time.  He argues how the concept of moments seems so prevalent now, thanks in part by technology, movies, and corporation-bred fantasies in what they can or cannot mean.

I found it to be an interesting article to me; not only topically but also in the matters of the point of view of someone whose first novel is also about the value of moments.  I actually had done research on the concept of moments in advance of my book’s release, and this article takes what I already knew about them to a different and unique level.  I found it worth the read.

So if you want to read it, it’s called “‘Moment’ Is Having a Moment.” Please do let me know what your thoughts are about it, for I would love to hear what other people have to say about Anderson’s take on the concept.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 11 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal).  Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Also, if you haven’t done so already, please go vote on whether or not you would like for my second novel to be available in print or not.  This poll will go on until the time comes to start the publishing process, so the more input on this decision, the better.

 

2 thoughts on “Ab hoc momento pendet aeternitas: Recommended Reading

  1. Pingback: From Moments to Memories: Recommended Reading | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

