Fresh Eyes, Cover Designs, Continual Inspiration, and Thinking Ahead (Second Novel Status Report #3)

Another four months has passed since I last gave a full-on update about the making of my second novel. Therefore, I believe that’s just enough time for me to write up a new one. As I look back on the progress on the novel between the previous update and now, I realize now that a lot has happened, and as you can imagine, I really like that.

Since my previous update, I changed the title of my novel. While for the longest time I was calling it something else, but shortly before the end of July, I took a good look at it and realized, This is not going to make any sense to anyone other than myself. So therefore, the title was scrapped and for two weeks, it was title-less. I went through numerous ideas of what would make a better one before finally settling for the one that I’m using now, and I have to say, I’m really happy with the newer one.

It’s from this change that’s added on to the differing journey I am taking with this novel compared to A Moment’s Worth. Apart from the title change, how I wrote it was also very different from how I wrote A Moment’s Worth. Going forward, the same could even said for how the cover design is being approached too. Unlike with A Moment’s Worth where it took me a long time to figure out what the cover was going to look like, I already knew early on what the cover for this one was going to be. That’s why the design process has since started, and while it’s shaping up to my vision already, I know there’s some work that needs to be done on it.

Also, if you’ve been keeping up, you may have also noted the poll I started back in August where I’m giving people an opportunity to vote on whether or not I should make this novel available not only in digital format but also print format. It’s an option I’ve had in mind for a while, but I want to see if that’s something people would want. For a while it had no deadline, but it’s only been recently where I decided to give it one. Getting people to vote has been harder than I thought, which is why I’m really pushing for people now to go vote. (Seriously, it only takes a few seconds.)

As for the editing process, my self edits have been complete for the time being. I edited my manuscript to the ground with re-wording, grammar fixes, and a number of additions as well. In fact, there have been enough additions to the novel to the point where I made it longer than it was when I first started editing it. Since then, I’ve started to get some fresh eyes on this manuscript. While the story flows in my mind, that doesn’t always mean my vision is going to necessarily translate well to the mind of a reader. So I already have one person reading it, and I’m hoping to find another. Obviously it’s not going to be the same as having Cheryl Morris reading it over, but that doesn’t mean it’s not going to be as good of a story without her input. In a way, she kind of has. As I’ve been doing my own edits, there have been many moments where I would make changes based upon what she would have suggested.

I’d be very surprised if the re-writes stopped with my self-edits, for I’m sure to get feedback of some capacity from the test candidates/fresh eyes. Previously I spoke of how events taking place in current time are well accommodating the time period reflected in the novel. Well I continue to draw on inspiration of a similar kind, enough as to where I’m changing words used to describe certain events in the past. In fact, without being too specific, a fellow author of mine has inspired me to take a research trip somewhere this weekend that will hopefully liven up certain parts of the novel as I continue to improve it.

While a release date has yet to be finalized, one thing that can be said for sure is that I plan to release my second novel next year, and as you can see at this point in time, next year is not that far away now. I so desperately want this novel to do better than my previous one, which is why I’m actually considering the possibility of holding events for it this time around. The question is: Will people be interested enough with the story to come out to it? To the rest of the world and the other authors out there, I’m still generally unknown, so it’s a possibility I’m cautiously testing with. What I will say is that I’m glad this novel of mine is coming out in 2016. Already I see the year as an appropriate one for its release.

That concludes this status report of my novel for the time being, and this is likely the last one for 2015. Hopefully by January and February, I can start revealing more about what to expect from the novel.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Also, if you haven’t done so already, please go vote on whether or not you would like for my second novel to be available in print or not. This poll will go on until December 1st, so the more input on this decision, the better.

Leave a Reply

