2 Years of Lola By The Bay/2015 Year in Review

As you can see in terms of establishing a tradition, the appearance of my blog has changed once more. After sticking with the same look for the past year, I figured that it’s time to change it up a little. This is, of course, in celebration of two things. Two days from now will mark two years since I officially launched Lola By The Bay, and today is the last regularly scheduled weekly blog post for 2015. I look back on my recap from a year ago, and I see now how I was somewhat fresh from a year being active in the blogosphere and still in a state of making my way.

This past year of the blog has definitely been far more different. Since I didn’t release a book this year, I had to compensate for that with the topics I chose from week to week. This past year in general has been quite different, and not exactly in a good way. Let me run it through now with my annual year in review.

This year on my blog, I opened up my topics options more to subjects outside of storytelling in books. I explored other forms of writing and the mechanisms of storytelling in other mediums; some of which one may normally not consider contemplating. This past year, I looked at writing such as songwriting and poetry, and I analyzed mechanisms of storytelling such as via acting, journalism, and costuming.

As far as expansion of analyzing other forms of storytelling goes, I took that  step further by creating a whole new category devoted to analyzing films and TV shows. Every month or so, I would devote a post to doing just that and I’m impressed by how much I’ve analyzed this past year. TV shows that have been analyzed include “Fresh Off the Boat,” “Glee,” and “Doctor Who.” As for movies, I’ve looked at “Inside Out,” “The Walk,” the “Star Wars” saga, and more. Though I have to say that I might consider cutting back on these posts in the coming year, for I’ve also noticed that they’re not getting as much response as I would have liked.

As an author now, I took some time this year to discuss my observations about potential levels of status of the occupation. That’s varied from looking at the significance of debut novels, my thoughts about when a celebrity adds “author” to the resume upon publication of a memoir, comparing and contrasting the realities of famous authors and other famous creative people, and also how one must be careful if they choose to go by a pseudonym.

Since I’ve been working on a new book this year, I’ve even gone in depth on the process,mindset and even circumstantial situations of writing. I’ve discussed the nostalgic notion of writing in cafes, the madness that comes with editing, how once may go about with researching and gaining inspiration for a story, as well as the triumphs and turmoil of writing for or against the masses and the times.

In terms of going forth with writing a new novel, I’ve even discussed that a few times as well. I’ve written every few months how it’s going and based on my previous post about it, I’m making progress in terms of getting it done and ready to release in the coming year.

At the same time, this past year also shed a lot of light on A Moment’s Worth, despite it not being the year of its release. Throughout the past year, I’ve gotten the word about it out there even more, thanks to the help of people all over the world who have either reviewed it and/or have interviewed me (you can find them listed here, in order of what has come out recently). July in particular was a big month for my debut novel, for not only did I celebrate one year since its publication, but I also gave access to it to one of my favorite authors, Chris Colfer.

There’s been a lot of good that has come out of my blog, as well as my life in general. This past year oversaw film festivals, meeting and getting to know cool people, lots of writing opportunities and more.

At the same time though, it really is difficult to ignore the dark undertones of the year. This past year, two close family friends passed away; one of them being the editor for A Moment’s Worth. These tragic events have definitely taken a toll on me, my family, as well as everyone else who genuinely loved and cared for these individuals. Not only were they both really good people, but the ways that they departed this world were really brutal (and unexpected in the case of my editor).

These losses haven’t been the only thing that’s on my mind as of lately. It’s been over a year since I finished my undergrads and I’m still having trouble finding a job, and it’s really taking a toll on my emotional state. I’ve also realized as of lately that I need to be more picky when it comes to choosing people I want to be friends with, for I want friendships that can grow and mature, be beneficial and have a positive effect on me as a person, be reciprocating and legitimately supportive, and not, as I’ve experienced time and time again, be a burdening ball and chain or lacking in appearance at all.

I’m not used to disclosing this much information on what’s on my mind on my blog, and believe me when I say that I haven’t even gone that in depth on all that’s been on my mind as of lately. That, of course, are topics best saved for my journal. I just wanted to briefly include it anyway, not only to explain why I didn’t really like 2015 as much, but also to disclose how just because I’m putting on a relatively vague, informative front in my blog posts, doesn’t mean that that’s what’s always on my mind.

That is why I’m really looking forward to 2016. Amidst my subconscious fears of what could happen over the next 12 months, I want the new year to start already. I’ve noticed that ever since I was twelve, every leap year has brought a major change in my life –  and a positive one at that. I don’t know if this routinely happens because I was born during a leap year or what, but I take it in strive anyway. Next year I plan to release my second novel, and I hope for much more to come my way for the bettering of things.

In the mean time, returning back to the focus of my blog, I plan to keep up my usual routine of blogging; the regularly scheduled weekly blog posts on Saturday and the occasional off-schedule special posts as well. The stats for this year have been a little sluggish, though I hope for that to change in the coming year upon the anticipating release of my second novel.

Apart from cutting back on Film/TV analysis posts, what do you want to see more/less of? Already I’m hoping to return to doing interviews this coming year, for I only did one this year. What else should I do that I haven’t done already on my blog? Are there any particular topical topics you want me to cover that I haven’t discussed yet? I periodically ask for what I can improve on and I tend to get little or no responses, and there generally should be no reason for that, given the number of followers of this blog. Help me out and hit the comment section please!

Overall, it was a productive second year of Lola By The Bay and as always, there is more to come. Thank you to everyone who has taken the time to read my blog posts.

2015… good-bye and good riddance! 2016… please be good to me.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

 

Leave a Reply

