Forging Paths (Journey Alone Pt. II)

It’s the beginning of a new year and I am looking forward to various happy happenings that are to go underway over the course of the next 12 months. I plan to release my second book this year, there are other writing projects of mine that hope to finally see the light of day, much more blog posts are to come your way on this blog as well as the others I write for, and more.

As much as 2015 sucked, I can’t ignore the fact that the past five years have held a number of unique experiences for me; more than I ever would have expected when I was 18. I’ve gotten to interview a number of interesting people (some of whom I could not believe I was in the position of speaking to), I’ve gotten involved in two amazing non-profit organizations, and of course I launched my career as an author by releasing my first novel.

Not bad for someone who hasn’t even hit their quarter life crisis yet, and a lot of it was as a result of primarily avoiding decisions and what not other people in my age range have. In college, I did not join a sorority, I didn’t go to parties, and I was very selective about the extra curricular activities I got involved in. In fact, by the time I was halfway through college, I was connecting more and more with people I was meeting off-campus than the ones I went to class with.

My decisions are even transitioning into my post-undergrad life as well, as I look into more education, more projects, and other opportunities of a similar kind. While this past first year hasn’t exactly been easy on me, there has been progress made that just isn’t quite visible yet.

I’m forging my own path, and as I’ve come to see even at this stage in my life, I’m still forging a path less created as opposed to those of my peers. As crazy early as I may find to be, my Facebook feed is slowly but surely leaning  more towards people getting engaged, weddings taking place, and children of their own are being produced, and less of grad school, first jobs, travels, and passionate pursuits. That’s not to say that the latter isn’t happening at all, but it seems very peculiar how, at least in my eyes, it seems that people are in such a rush to settle down so soon. If anything, I didn’t expect to see a good chunk of these life-changing events unfold on my newsfeed until I’m at least in my late 20’s or early 30’s. It’s pretty crazy.

There is that societal pressure that many feel; to find “the one,” to settle down, to continue their lineage… and despite it all, those are things that I not only don’t feel ready for, but I also don’t necessarily want. And in the real world, taking the path less traveled can be even trickier, for that means you don’t have as many examples to look up to for guidance; and every decision made at this point in life could leave an eternal impact.

What’s even more unnerving is that I don’t want to be lonely. Yes, I’ve talked before about how I’m used to journeying alone, but I don’t want to feel isolated in a world of billions. Already I feel that a lot with a number of my close friends still in school, but I don’t want to feel like I have to marry someone to relieve me of that loneliness. I’m a writer, and I’m therefore going to spend a lot of time in my mind. It would just be nice to have a shoulder to lean on when in the real world, and that shoulder doesn’t even need to necessarily belong to a human.

This is obviously a much more personal (and slightly off-topic) post from what I’m normally used to blogging about, but I found it relevant to convey anyway. It’s unusual for someone of my age to already be a published author, and from that pursuit alone, one can imagine how even more unusual my future pursuits will be. Despite not having the same life goals as other people my age may currently be pursuing, I also don’t want to feel lonely doing so. I guess what I’m trying to say is: I just want to live my life on my forged path.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

