3 Things I Want To Do As An Author

As an author, the top priority is to, of course, write. However, I must say that there are a number of things I want to do with this status of mine that other authors have had the privilege of doing. It’s not about becoming famous from this occupation, but rather to put it to good use beyond just writing books. That is why today, for the first time ever on Lola By The Bay, I present to you a listicle; a listicle of three things I want to do as an author. Let’s get it going:

  1. Speaking Engagements/Presentations/Panelists

It’s common for authors to do this, where they would speak before a crowd at bookstores, or even libraries or classrooms, about their work, their life as an author, or even particular themes incorporated into their works. As an indie author though, I’ve actually never been invited to do these before, though I’m hoping to make a few happen for when the second novel comes out.

I find speaking engagements and presentations to be an effective tool for an author. They offer readers and potential readers an opportunity to know you a little better, beyond the fictional worlds of your creation and beyond the words of other writings you may have done. Plus, it gives you an opportunity to be an educator for a time without the teaching credentials (hehe…).

Plus, it also gives an excuse for you to travel, for it’s wise to reach out to as large of an audience as possible. I do enjoy traveling, and while I don’t see that happening as far as speaking engagements anytime soon, I hope that happens someday. A good number of readers of A Moment’s Worth actually reside overseas in the UK, so it would be nice to actually fly over there and meet with them.

In addition, I also hope to be on a panel of some sort someday with other authors and creators as well. Whether this be at a conference or what, to be speaking with others who pursue the same or similar craft makes it all the resonating for me, as a member of this little creative tribe only a few make the push to be a part of.

2. Campaigns for Charity

To raise money for a cause can be trendy, especially if the contributor gets something out of it. There are so many issues to resolve in our world and that includes providing books and other reading material for children living in countries where they don’t have as easy access to them as here. I’d like to help with that.

There are several ways to go about such campaigns for charity, but one example that I saw that I really like is one Chris Colfer did last summer, where he designed these cool-looking, limited edition T-shirts, with a popular quote from his first Land of Stories novel printed across the front. All proceeds made from that campaign were made out to firstbook.org, who gives new books to kids in need. I can see myself doing something like that, especially with the kind of quotes that came out of A Moment’s Worth, as well as the upcoming second novel.

Already I feel guilty enough to not donate to charity to begin with, and that’s mainly because I don’t exactly have a lot of money on me to give. But if I were to ever host a campaign such as the one described in the previous paragraph, would people be interested in partaking in it?

3. Collaborations

Initially I’ve discussed collaborations in the past, not only my fear of them but also my openness to them. There actually are a few people in mind whom I’d love to work with, and not all of them are writers. I’ve just never named them, out of fear of jinxing all and any possibilities I have with working with them in the future.

And while some really are, at least for the moment, dreams that may or may not come true, there are some where I do have contact with them through others. I’ve just never acted on it. I don’t want to feel like I’m taking explosive advantage of those who have contact with these individuals and yet even if I did make contact with these desired individuals, how would they respond to me? I’m not that well known, so odds are they’re probably not that familiar with my work, and as a result, they might just dismiss me completely.

But those are the risks worth taking in life right? It’s just all about the right timing and the right way of approaching them. One thing’s for sure is if I ever collaborated with these individuals in mind, I’m confident that together with our combined efforts, we can create something beautiful.

These three things are what I hope I get to do as an author one day. I just hope by putting it out there, maybe I can take the first steps in making these wishes become a reality.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

 

One thought on “3 Things I Want To Do As An Author

  1. I hope that you accomplish all of your dreams through the platform of writing. The possibilities are endless. I definitely want to get involved with some decent charities as well. Ladies Prism is coming soon to romance the world. Scotian Breeze is the movement. Treasure Words, Collect Figures is the company. History in the making; stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

