From Moments to Memories: Recommended Reading

It’s been a crummy week for the world. While no mass shootings or terrorist attacks have happened at all this week, it’s hard to ignore the scarily common occurrence of seasoned entertainers passing away from cancer (some of whom having kept a tight lip about). With the sudden loss of so many people this week- for me, in particular, Alan Rickman on Thursday- I’m finding it difficult this week to summon the proper energy to write on the topic that was originally scheduled for today.

Similar to what I did a few months ago, I’m going to instead give something to read, but rather than an article this time, it’s a quote. The quote is:

“Sometimes you will never know the value of a moment, until it becomes a memory.” -Dr. Seuss

I came across this quote earlier this week. It came to my attention via the Facebook page of model Iman, David Bowie’s widow, who posted it shortly before his passing.

It’s true that we don’t truly value the moments we experience until they’re gone, not just in regards to people you care about or admire who seem like they could be around forever, but other things as well. I think of the many times I hear on social media from people my age on how much they wish to be kids again, with no responsibilities and all the time in the world. That’s something we take for granted in that actual time period. I consider scenarios of people ending friendships with others, only to realize after the fact that any advice that was shared their way was valuable all along. Most of all, I think of the small moments shared with others that didn’t mean much at the time, but later developed meaning.

Looking at this quote, not only do I understand why Iman chose to post it on her Facebook page on the brink of her husband’s passing, but I also see it as a sort of transitional sentiment between my two novels. My first novel deals a lot with the value and impact of a moment. My second novel deals with the value and power of memory- and in more ways than one, might I add.

Read the quote, and take the time to contemplate on its meaning. What moments in your life did you recognize its true value of later when reflecting back in memory? Feel free to share with me your thoughts.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

