On the Hustle to Get Work Done (Second Novel Status Report #4)

With the fact that it’s not only a new year but also the year of the release, I figured it’s time to release another status report on my second novel. I can imagine these to appear much more frequent now than before, as we get closer and closer to the book’s release.

I’m happy to announce that as of the first weekend of this month, the cover art has been completed. I have to say I’m really happy with it. It is exactly what I was going for in terms of its look, and every time I look at it, it summons the similar feelings of pride and satisfaction as I experienced when I completed the cover art for A Moment’s Worth. I shared the news with a friend of mine last week, and when she asked if she could see it, I told her she has to wait until it was publicly revealed (but in the mean time, she might want to consider checking out the first novel ;)).

Edits are still taking place since having successfully found an editor. The feedback and edits I’ve been getting so far have been incredibly helpful, as they not only are making the novel more readable, but it’s also aiding me in finding other ways in improving the context as well.

There’s just one problem. The edits aren’t coming fast enough. It has been several weeks since I last received any feedback of the sort and it’s really starting to make me antsy. I get that this manuscript isn’t the only thing on her plate and she has other things to do, but knowing that this is the year I plan to release the novel, the faster I get the edits from her, the sooner I can plan ahead in other things regarding the novel.

As predicted from my previous update, just because my self-edits have had their sweeps, doesn’t mean they’ve entirely ceased. I swear to you that I’m increasingly becoming a borderline perfectionist as my list of things I want to change in my second novel continuously grows. It’s mainly little things, but as one may attest to, it’s the little details that can make all the difference. Changes I plan to make include changing the length of the description for a background character, changing the wording of this person’s sentence, or creating slang for a particular kind of activity.

Just as well, there are changes documented that are substantially larger as well, such as resetting the location of a particular scene and changing the reaction to an event to something else. In fact, just the other day, I changed the title of one of the chapters, in attempt to make it sound more interesting than before. It’s good that I’m keeping an open, conscious mind about what I can still change, but I just hope it doesn’t become excessive in the process.

I’m hustling to get work done so I can finalize a release date and get this second novel of mine out into the world. It’s because it’s still a work in progress that I haven’t been contacting blogs and what not yet about what it’s called and what it’s about. While normally it’s tradition for a novel slated for a particular year to start building up hype early on (as is the case with my fellow author’s upcoming novel), I’m refraining from doing that; not only to continue working on my novel, but also to keep the story to myself just a little bit longer. I hope that the more I keep the story a mystery, the more anticipation I can build around it.

This is the first status report on my second novel for the year, and I look forward to sharing more in the future as I get closer to the day I can release it to the world.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

