Thoughts About Blogging on Multiple Platforms

If you’ve been following me, then you know that this blog of mine isn’t the only blog I write for. You’re probably aware that I co-run another one and that I’m an associate editor for another. That’s how it’s been for the longest time, while submitting work to other blogs and publications in between time.

I remember this conversation I had once with a fellow blogger, where they tried encouraging me to venture out and explore other possible blogs to write for. I was hesitant in doing so, and for my own and – what I see as – wise reasons.

One of them being that I didn’t want to spread myself too thin, for to encourage a juggling act of platforms is a position I did not want to find myself in. Another reason is not wanting to give myself too much power and freewill on the Internet, for I know that that can snowball into a temptation that can manifest in my head, that can ultimately turn in a sort of doomsday direction. On top of all that, at the time, there weren’t really too many other blogs that I was following too closely where I could truly picture myself writing for.

That has, however, changed slightly over the past two months, where I’ve become a contributor for two separate blogs; one I’ve been a reader of for years (but never thought I’d have anything truly valuable to add until recently), the other I happened across via Twitter. I acted on them both not as someone of a higher rank, but as a simple contributor, as they both aligned with my interests, as well as able to shine lights on subject matter I knew I could provide a voice to. I approach them both out of labors of love, for I really want every word I write on there to count.

With these two platforms under my wing has brought up a few challenges that have gently – but not fully – impact with the reasoning I listed earlier. I have since begun to think and be more critical about ideas for posts, whether or not they are worth pursuing, and which platform it would be best suited for. I want to control how much and what kind of content I’m putting out there, for the sake of not letting power consume my ego. I also don’t want to exhaust myself from doing this, for blogging is something that I want to remain as a joy for me. Not to mention that I didn’t want it to become too time consuming, especially when I’m preparing a novel for a possible fall release. But I think so far, I’ve handled the new additions pretty well.

Blogging is a long-form type of writing that comes with the digital age we’re in now. It’s also a form that, as it may sound surprisingly for some, I initially struggled with. I remember writing my first blog when I was 20, for an online newsletter I used to work for. I remember how I was very hesitant over what kind of tone to take with it, how objective I should remain, how much of myself I can put into it, and more. But with time, as is with all skills when fresh and new to them, I got better at with time and more experience. I took on the challenge of writing a blog then, because I knew that as a writer of the 21st century, this would be a skill that’s necessary to have in the long run… and it turns out I was right.

So if you haven’t been keeping up with my recent published works online, then feel free to head on up to the top of the page and click Published Works for all that is recent for me beyond this platform of mine. I firmly believe in maintaining a balance between blogging for multiple platforms, so long as my voice remains pure and my mind remains confident in what I am writing to be an adequate addition to this digital space.

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

