Traveling the Road Less Traveled

Despite it being two years since the release of A Moment’s Worth, I’m still at an age where it’s not only unusual to already have one published novel under my belt, but also that I’m getting to release another novel soon as well. It’s not something I brag about, for it’s more so acknowledging those who’ve noted it otherwise. In the past, I discussed my thoughts on how to go about informing people I’m an author while still enrolled in college. However, now that I’ve been out of school for a while, I’m starting to see a shift as to where I am in my life, in comparison to others; and as a result, it’s becoming clearer as to how I’m really traveling down the road less traveled.

To be more specific and as otherwise noted by other people via social media, I’m at that point now where I’m starting to see people get engaged, get married, and starting families of their own. No joke, while I was at Comic-Con two weeks ago, two people I know from high school got engaged a few days apart. Earlier this week, someone I’ve known since elementary school got married. And that is just what’s been going on recently!

Now before I go any further, let me just saw that no, I’m not one of those weirdos who keeps tabs on every single individual I was around during my primary and secondary education days. These are in regards to individuals who I know and have since stayed in contact with. While similar milestones have since been reached by people I used to go to college with, it’s a little different and tad more mind-boggling when you consider the people you’ve known prior to adulthood.

It’s a reality that’s a little difficult for me to grasp at times, for several reasons. I think part of it has to with that as a Millennial, I’m part of a generation where reaching significant milestones tends to take longer when compared to previous generations. Another is that as someone who’s been struggling with the real world post-college, to picture myself in a position of getting married is financially unrealistic at this point in time. Above all else, there’s also the fact that my goals and aspirations are different than others. I want to become a full-time writer; in books, screenplays, and what not, and in my vision, that doesn’t include getting married and having kids… and that is perfectly okay.

As much as society may try to pressure us otherwise, despite the fact that what each person does with their own life that doesn’t involve inflicting harm to others is generally no one’s business, we don’t all have to follow the same path. What becomes of our destiny is what we make of it and what we choose to happen. Along with individuals I know of who’re on the path to getting married, there are also those I know who are perfectly content with just doing their own thing and flying solo. That’s equally as admirable of them, so long as they’re truly living a happy life.

I’ve never minded being different from others, for that was something my own parents could see coming since day one. However, the only weird thing about traveling the road less traveled is when it comes down to explaining to others what I’ve been up to. No joke, I ran into a former high school classmate several months ago, and when it came to telling her how I’m working on my second novel, I found myself struggling. I’ve always been pretty modest about my status as an author to others, so I was practically tripping over my own words and hesitations. It was one of those things where I thought, How do I explain this without sounding like I’m making myself out to be a big shot?

I guess that’s just one of those things that I still need to learn to deal with in time, especially as I get closer to my second novel’s release. Other than that, I just have to keep on keeping on with traveling the road less traveled. Already I’m fortunate enough to grow up in a household and era where certain expectations haven’t been heavily enforced on me. It’s a mindset that I don’t see myself ever getting rid of.

Everyone has their own roads to pursue. Regardless of which one you choose, make sure it’s one you want to travel on.

(NOTE: If any of what I’ve written today sounds familiar, that’s because many of the topics addressed were previously written about in a post from the beginning of the year. This is just an extension on it, as well as the beginnings of finding peace with the less traveled road.)

A Moment’s Worth is now available through the following venues: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, Smashwords, iTunes. Please leave a review if you can, for my goal is to get a total of at least 20 reviews on all venues (so far, I’ve gotten 12 reviews so I’m already just past the halfway point to my goal). Check out its Goodreads page, which includes two trivia quizzes for all who’ve completed reading it already.

Leave a Reply

