Before You Read “An Absolute Mind”: Recommended Readings

We are down to the wire at this point. It is finally November, and as of today, we are now ten days away from the release of my second novel, An Absolute Mind. Since my previous post, my condition has improved over the past week, and I think that largely has to do with the number of outlets who are picking up on the book’s impending release and taking interest in it. It’s an exciting time, and hopefully the excitement I feel will outdo any additional stress that may come my way.

However, before the book’s release, it only seems right to put together some readings that I highly suggest reading before reading the book itself. All these pieces have been written by me, not all of them have been published on this site, and they all give a look at different aspects of the novel. As straight forward as An Absolute Mind may be compared to A Moment’s Worth, as the author, I have a bird’s eye view on everything that makes up the book. While it’s not required to read these pieces prior to the book, as the title of this post implies, it’s recommended. It’s all in the matter of gaining perspective and understanding on where I’m coming from on certain aspects of the book.

All the links will be provided below. Any published works that were released outside of this blog will be noted. I highly encourage you to take your time with going through them and please feel free to let me know your thoughts about them in the comment section below or on Twitter.

Diversity in the Optimistic World of “An Absolute Mind” (10/13/16): “I notice how in novels where the time era is set somewhere in the future, such as young adult dystopian novels like “The Hunger Games” and “Ready Player One,” there has been little effort made to diversify the futures they’re set in, despite the fact that populations are changing all the time. By making the population the era the story is set in 25% mixed race, I found it a way of reflecting what could likely happen, based on what is currently happening all the time; and that is that more and more mixed race people are coming into existence.” (Multiracial Media)

Empowerment Through Storytelling (10/8/16): “I hope that through these characters, they can effectively counter every racist joke and sexist remark made out there, for to write a character as an effective human is, at the end of the day, a goal accomplished.”

(Accidentally) Emerging and Breaking From Old Attitudes (9/27/16): “With the release of AN ABSOLUTE MIND on the horizon, it now means more to me that my protagonist is Japanese American. It’s not about disregarding the traumatic experiences my family members went through during World War II. It’s about breaking ties from their discriminatory attitudes, finding common ground, and exploring the universal journey.” (YOMYOMF)

Special Tuesday Post: Second Novel Title and Release Date REVEAL (9/13/16): “…I feel that it’s evolved to become even more in that, as almost every detail of the story and its universe is written in response to the circumstances to issues and events that are going on now. That’s why it’s very important for me to emphasize that this story is set in an optimistic future, but still has its own issues to deal with, and the novel will reveal all that with time.”

Thoughts About Writing Difficult Subject Matter (8/20/16): “While there are several themes and aspects to it, one of them is the topic of carrying on the legacy of someone you perhaps didn’t know too well. I can already confirm that that was inspired by real life experiences, and conveying that in the story, while difficult to do, is something that I hope comes across to the readers.”

Variations on a Theme: The Musicality of Phil Collins (2/22/16): “I’ve never imagined getting to that point; where my writing would be influenced by a musician. It took a journey to get to where I’m at, not only in terms of being influenced by Phil Collins, but also to becoming a dedicated fan of his; and, perhaps similarly for other fans of my generation, it’s a journey that dates back about 17 years ago.” (Entropy Magazine)

From Writing to Editing (Second Novel Status Report #2) (7/25/15): ” I wonder how often of an occurrence that is for authors who write actively in the science fiction genre.  How often do events come around that are almost close to what they’re writing in their own novels?”

Writing About the Future (Second Novel Status Report #1) (3/28/15): “There are many things to consider about the possibilities that the future may hold, and therefore many questions about how everything and anything could change in the decades to come; not only in terms of technological advances, but also regarding how our culture will change too.”

An Absolute Mind is available for pre-order on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and Smashwords, and will be officially released on November 15th. Be sure to also go to its Goodreads page and let me know you’re excited for it by adding it to your “to read” list.

Leave a Reply

