Openness to Collaborations in 2017

With the year winding down to a close now, I look ahead at the coming year in terms of how I go forward as a writer. With the fact that I released An Absolute Mind so late in the year, I’ve made it very clear that I will be promoting it as much as possible throughout the coming year; especially with the kind of administration the United States is about to obtain. I also know that work will be going into my third novel, which, as of last month, I’m proud to say I’ve started jotting down notes for.

However, what else is there to do as a writer? While I also plan to continue my weekly blog posts here, as well as my writing contributions on other sites, I want to do more. I look to a listicle I had put together back in January about three things I want to do as an author, and there’s one thing in particular that I really want to go after. This coming year, I would very much like to take part in more collaborations.

What do I mean by collaborations exactly, in particular as a writer? If you are familiar with what it means to be a writer, then you can imagine how it can be one of the more solo occupations in the creative sphere. But there are opportunities that require a writer to liven up the experience and pull it out into fruition that I would love to contribute to; such as short film (and maybe even feature film) projects, music, anthologies, mixed media projects, and more.

In a few ways, I’ve already made progress is making this goal of mine come true. Back in October, a friend who I met through college reached out to me. He’s putting together a trilogy of art songs that are to be performed this winter for his doctoral in music composition. The first two songs have their lyrics taken from poems written by Filipino poets from the early 20th century, and he asked if I can write a third poem for the third song; as a way of tying together the themes from the first two poems, via the perspective of a Filipino American of the 21st century. I willingly accepted the task and I must say, it was a fun project to do, and my friend and his professor both really liked the poem. Because this is an artsy kind of piece, I’ve even contributed voice recordings of me reading it in different ways.

So that is one collaboration I’ve taken part in; through the spectrum of music. Another example is something that I’ve been working on for the past several months. I have been taking part in putting together an anthology show about what it means to be a geek in today’s time. Several skits are being put together for this production; such as an argument amongst different characters from different franchises, how a video game can provide a platform of escapism when reality becomes difficult to deal with, and even a skit on how female geeks are viewed and treated. There’s a lot of co-writing involved that I am taking part of, and let me just say, for someone who hasn’t co-written a play since junior high school, this is quite an engaging experience.

That’s what I mean by collaborations, and in a number of ways, it will benefit me in the long run as a writer. One issue that I’ve been constantly having as an author of novels is that I’m trying to persuade a generation that is typically not known for reading for fun. That’s not to say they’re against storytelling; it’s just that they prefer the kind that are easy to consume (such as films, TV shows, and music). By broadening my skill set out to different mediums, which I’ve always aspired to do, I’ll be able to reach a much wider audience.

On a more personal scale, by taking part of collaborations, perhaps this can begin the long awaited repair needed on my ability to trust people. While I haven’t gone in too deep on the matter, I have mentioned in the past on how I’ve been dealing with a lot of trust issues over the past few years. I don’t want that to consume me for the rest of my life. I want to be open to others while still taking precaution. I feel that by working with others on creative projects, maybe these can serve as the first steps. As long as they maintain the same passion, devotion, and work ethic to said project, then I know something can be accomplished.

I’ve spoken before about my openness to collaborating with people, but at that time, I had yet to release my first novel out into the world. Now that I’m older, have published two novels, and have taken part in a few collaborations already, I feel much more ready to take on this goal of mine.

To my creative friends out there, if you want to work with me at all on a collaboration and fully mean it with all your heart, hear me when I say that I am READY.

An Absolute Mind is now available for purchase on Amazon, Barnes & NobleCreateSpace, iBooks, Kobo, Smashwords, etc. If you read it, please leave a review, for they’re greatly appreciated and help me grow as a writer. Also, be sure to check out its Goodreads page, and feel free to leave any questions you have about the book.

One thought on “Openness to Collaborations in 2017

  1. Pingback: Progress in Collaborations | Lola By The Bay

Leave a Reply

