Reflection: 6 Months of “An Absolute Mind” and My First Reading as an Author

This is not the world I had anticipated my second novel to be released in, but for several reasons, I am glad that it is in existence in this time that we are in now. I can’t believe it’s been just over six months since the publication of An Absolute Mind. The speed of time is something that I will never be able to digest properly, for it really feels like last week – if not yesterday – since I released this second work out into the world.

I look back at the past half year (!) and compare it to the same passage of time from when I released A Moment’s Worth, and in many ways, more has been accomplished with this novel, having learned from mistakes made the first time around. The book is actually in libraries! It’s been reviewed quite a few times (the first one having been released a week before the book was officially published). I appeared on a talk show and discussed its inclusion of multiracial characters and the novel’s overall significance during the current political climate. Sure, there have been the occasional flakes who’ve said they would assist would getting the word out about the novel and not follow through, and book sales could always be better, but otherwise, compared to my first novel, things have been going swimmingly.

Also just this week marked a first not only for An Absolute Mind, but for me in my journey as an author. This past Wednesday, I did my very first readings as an author, set up by my former theatre advisor at my alma mater. I read excerpts from the novel and answered questions afterwards for two of her classes. I can’t tell you the full-fledged opinion of what the students thought or took away from having me there. What I can say is that it does feel pretty cool to do a reading; to read the words you spend time and energy crafting out loud to potential readers and then getting a sense of the audience’s point of view on it all through their questions. That is all and everything I had ever expected out of a reading, and I’m so glad to have had this experience. I’m incredibly grateful for it.

Going forward, I’m looking forward to seeing more come out that involves people reading and learning about An Absolute Mind. I’m still going to be reaching out to potential reviewers (because you can honestly never have too many reviews), there’s a bookstore in San Francisco that is planning to make copies of the book available in their store (which will be another first right there), and I’m also currently working with that same bookstore to arrange another reading. Anything else that comes my way going forward with this novel, I’m looking forward to it.

To the people who’ve helped in any way, shape, or form with getting the word out about An Absolute Mind throughout the past six months (and I mean the “actions speak louder than words” kind of help), I thank you deeply. I can only do so much on my own, and so your assistance is highly appreciated. I await to see where the book is in another six months, when it hits its one-year anniversary.

An Absolute Mind is now available for purchase on Amazon, Barnes & NobleCreateSpace, iBooks, Kobo, Smashwords, etc. If you read it, please leave a review, for they’re greatly appreciated and help me grow as a writer. Also, be sure to check out its Goodreads page, and feel free to leave any questions you have about the book.

Leave a Reply

