When Writing Several Stories at Once

I’m in a unique position in my life at the the moment, and I’m not just talking about being in my mid-20’s and already the author of two novels. If anything, I’m talking about the writing projects that I’m currently working on. Yes, projects.

At the moment, I have several going on at once, and none of them are the collaborations that I’ve been involved with. I’m wrapping up work on my secret project (especially since I’ll be announcing it pretty soon), I’ve been working on a short stage play for a writing workshop I’ve been taking for the past month, I’ve begun the writing process for my third novel (all the while still in the development stage for it), and I’m in the midst of forming an idea in my head for what could potentially be a screenplay.

There are two standout factors about these writing projects that I find very beneficial. One is that they are all at different stages in their processes; from idea to near completion. The other is that without revealing too much, they’re all different stories too. For instance, while two of them easily fall within the fantasy genre, the other two are set in contemporary times.

The latter factor is particularly poignant as I make progress with these projects. It allows for me to dive into different worlds, different characters, and different situations. It works well in the event where if I need to pause from working on one story, I could easily switch gears to another. This is something that I didn’t have going on for me when I was working on An Absolute Mind; although maybe I could say otherwise with A Moment’s Worth, seeing that I released “The Shadows” before then.

At the same time, the fact that I have so many projects going on at once makes for a daunting venture to some capacity or another. I’ve always been a bit of a multi-tasker, and so for this part of me to extend out to what writings I pursue is both no surprise but also a potential recipe for becoming overwhelmed to the max.

But then I think of how benefiting this new challenge is for me; not only in terms of how much I can get done, but in terms of what this could mean for me in the long run. It could mean taking on projects offered to me and seeing them the entire way through. It could mean being acknowledged for being well versed in different forms of creative writing, and that is a goal that I’ve always been aiming for. It could mean always going over that sense of fulfillment and exceeding it each and every time.

That is not to say that I’m not getting anything out of the collaborations either. It’s just that sometimes they take a while, with life getting in the way for both parties or some other circumstances. At least in this case, with working on my own solo writing projects, at least I’m keeping myself occupied in the mean time, all the while continuously exploring what I can do on my own.

While it may vary from writer to writer, at least for me, this is how I see it when writing several stories at once. It’s living and breathing my craft, all the while preparing for taking on even more endeavors of the same kind in the future to come.

An Absolute Mind is now available for purchase on Amazon, Barnes & NobleCreateSpace, iBooks, Kobo, Smashwords, etc. If you read it, please leave a review, for they’re greatly appreciated and help me grow as a writer. Also, be sure to check out its Goodreads page, and feel free to leave any questions you have about the book.

 

Leave a Reply

