Strictly No Elephants: Recommended Viewing

By golly I can’t believe half a year has gone by so fast! Times continues to pass along and yet progress in getting the freak show in my country’s office out of there continues to happen at a snail’s pace. Nonetheless, we shall persist, and for me, at least I have my writing.

So this week’s post is going to be another Recommended Analyzing piece, only this time, the source material that I shall be providing is something that I have yet to provide: a photograph. Earlier this week, an author I follow on social media, Jamie Ford, posted the following image on how it feels like to be a writer most of the time:

Now when I first saw this photograph, it made me want to do several things at once. I wanted to “awww” over how adorable this is (I mean, look at that little kid and her tiny, tiny elephant). I also wanted to shed a tear, for I felt bad for her over this flat out rejection thrown in her face. But above all else, given what the visual represents, I also wanted to say, “Preach!”

There are so many instances where writers have had doors slammed in their faces. They risk getting their manuscript rejected when trying to find a publisher, they risk not getting a reader (whether due to lack of interest or something else), and they  risk getting turned away from (if not even considered for) multiple opportunities as well. It can be quite sad, for all you want to do is show off your cute, precious elephant to the world.

I’ve been pretty open with the fact that I’ve experienced numerous instances of rejections as an author too. While it’s getting better as more and more people start to become more aware of my work, I want to push it even harder than that.

If you’re wondering as to who the photographer is of this vintage photo is, I regret to say that I don’t know. I’ve been researching it ever since Jamie posted it, and the closest I could get to was this children’s book that was clearly inspired by the photo. It may be too long ago for anyone to know of who the photographer was, what year it was taken, as well as the identity of the little girl and where she and her little elephant are at. But if anyone does happen to know, please leave a comment below.

So give this photograph a thorough look, consider its story, and think about what it represents to you. I’d like to think that the little girl was persistent enough to eventually convince whichever higher authority that elephants should be allowed, as I continue to do just that on my journey.

An Absolute Mind is now available for purchase on Amazon, Barnes & NobleCreateSpace, iBooks, Kobo, Smashwords, etc. If you read it, please leave a review, for they’re greatly appreciated and help me grow as a writer. Also, be sure to check out its Goodreads page, and feel free to leave any questions you have about the book.

 

Leave a Reply

