When In Costume

Happy Halloween everyone! Correct me if I’m wrong, but according to my calculations, this is the third time this year where my weekly blog post has fallen on a holiday. Halloween is one of those holidays that, at least to me, I felt I took advantage of when I was younger, but have grown to really love and appreciate more and more as I’ve gotten older. While many people have a wide variety of reasons for why they like the holiday, I think a lot of us share common ground when I say that I especially love it when you get to dress up in costumes.

There are so many to choose from; whether it it’s the thematically appropriate spooky costumes, the attire of a particular profession, a public figure, or as your favorite character from a TV series or movie. However, the act- and perhaps art- of assembling and wearing a costume seems to have gone even beyond Halloween in today’s culture, ultimately giving more excuses during the year for stories to be told in this form. That’s what I aim to explore today. Continue reading “When In Costume”